Women’s March- Raleigh

If any of you know me personally, you know I’ve always been an advocate for women’s rights. I always stand up for what I think is right, even if it gets me in trouble.

Yesterday (January 21st, 2017) I had the privilege to march in the Women’s March on Washington- Raleigh. I went with my mom, my sister, and my two closest friends. The event happened in Moore Square in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina.  I have never felt more empowered than I did yesterday. Seeing all these women (and men!) come together to support many causes was just so heart warming.

Even though the event was called the “women’s march”, people supporting multiple causes showed up. I saw signs for Black Lives Matter, Education, Science vs. Religion, Refugees, Immigrants, etc. I love that people from other causes showed up not only for their cause, but to support women as well.

Protesting with my mom was one of the best things I’ve ever done. She raised me to know that I am allowed to share my opinion, even if its unpopular. I’m so glad I have the support of my mom to stand up for our future. I will never forget what we did yesterday.

memomdelaney

Not only did I have the support of my mom, but my dad as well. I called him a few days prior, telling him I was going to go and he got the idea to go to the Boston march. While things changed and he was unable to make it, he still made a sign and made sure he got his message across. I’m so proud to call him my father and know that he has my back.

dadposter2-good

Yesterday I marched for the reproductive rights of all women, the wage gap, and the women all around the world who don’t get the privilege to stand up for what is right. I hope women continue to feel empowered and continue to refuse to stay silent!

mesign3

Abby Ware

Leave a Reply

